IIT Bhubaneswar organized its 9th Convocation in hybrid mode with actual reality

IIT Bhubaneswar organized its 9th Convocation in hybrid mode with actual reality

IIT Bhubaneswar held its 9th convocation ceremony on December 4, 2020 in both online, and in-person mode amidst the state of a pandemic. Hon'ble Education Minister, Shri Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank was the Chief Guest on the occasion, who attended the event via video conferencing. Sanjay Dhotre, Minister of State for Education, delivered an address as the Guest of Honour, and RV Raja Kumar, Director, IIT Bhubaneswar presented the director’s report and handed over degrees to graduating students. This year, the institute conferred 446 degrees in total which included 35 PhD, 141 MTech, 70 MSc and 200 BTech degrees. The event included an awards ceremony as well, where high-achievers were given medals and certificates.

Mr Pokhriyal inaugurated the student activity centre (SAC), play courts and the building of the School of Humanities, Social Sciences and Management, of the institute.While addressing the students, Mr Pokhriyal mentioned the National Education Policy (NEP), as he said, “The education policy of the Government of India will go a long way in instilling the future of the new students which will pave the way for holistic and multidisciplinary education”.He also reminded them of not to forget the contribution of the alma mater i.e. IIT Bhubaneswar for its innovative teaching, learning and mentoring them to the path of success.

He expressed confidence that the students will contribute by their way of innovations and research by fulfilling the dream of our Hon’ble Prime Minister’s visionary program: “Atmanirbhar Bharat Abhiyan” by being self-reliant leading to creation of employment opportunities inside the nation.

Dr. Rajendra Prasad Singh, Chairman, (BoG), IIT Bhubaneswar expressed his satisfaction on the momentous occasion and congratulated all the meritorious students for their meritorious achievement. He expressed that the students of the Institute will be the torch bearers for nation building and paving the path for a modern India. He insisted that achievement and excellence should go hand in hand in integrity and discipline and our students will prove it right in the journey ahead. He complimented the Director of the Institute for creating an excellent mix of teaching, learning platforms combined with world class infrastructure for attracting the best brains of the country. He also expressed his heartfelt thanks to Hon’ble Union Minister of Education and Hon’ble Minister of State for Education for their valuable time and presence and also to all the dignitaries present on the historic occasion.

The President of India Gold Medal was awarded to Aditya Pal of Computer Science and Engineering, Director’s Gold Medal was awarded to Sanket Dey Chowdhury of the School of Infrastructure, and Director’s Gold Medal was given to Souvick Chakraborty of the Physics School of Basic Sciences.

The Convocation ended with a Vote of Thanks and National Anthem was sung by all the participants of the event.

Join WhatsApp Group: Link

Related Posts